Past Events

Friday, February 24, 2017
An Evening with Brenda Patterson ’00
A heteronormative to homoextraordinary recital
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Tuesday February 21, 2017
Location, Location, Location: Barnard’s Belated Embrace of Its Urban Identity
A lecture with Robert McCaughey
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Helen Pond McIntyre ’48 Lecture Shades of Intimacy: Women in the Time of Revolution
A lecture and seminar with Hortense Spillers
James Room, 4th Floor Barnard Hall
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
The Pussyhat Project
Discussion with Creator Krista Suh '09
Event Oval, Diana Center
Monday, February 13, 2017
Global Networks: Understanding an Interconnected World
Spring 2017 Weiss International Visiting Scholar Lecture
530 Altschul Hall
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Translating Post-Genocide Recovery: Kubabarira (Shared Suffering), Justice, and Grassroots Performance Associations in Rwanda
A lecture by Ananda Breed
Ella Weed Room, 223 Milbank Hall
February 9 - 12, 2017
The Athena Film Festival
Screenings, lectures, and activities
Barnard Campus
Monday, February 6, 2017
Dreadlocks Story: A Documentary on Rastafarian Culture
304 Barnard Hall (3009 Broadway, at W. 117 St. crosswalk, NY, NY)
Monday, February 6, 2017
NYSAF Reading Series: WHAT A SHAME ABOUT ME by Eric Bogosian
The Glicker-Milstein Blackbox Theater, Diana Center
Saturday, February 4, 2017
Barnard College Los Angeles Gala 2017
Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Women Poets at Barnard: Lynn Emanuel & Patricia Spears Jones
A poetry reading by Lynn Emanuel and Patricia Spears Jones.
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Thursday, February 2, 2017
In the Wake: On Blackness and Being
A salon in honor of Christina Sharpe
Event Oval, The Diana Center
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
POWER TALK with Athena Distinguished Fellow Shiza Shahid
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor of Barnard Hall
Saturday, January 28, 2017
Methodological Developments in Teaching of Spanish as a Second Language. A Workshop for Teachers, XI
Vocabulary Teaching & Learning in a Foreign Language: Incidental & Intentional Approaches
Barnard Campus
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Faculty Research Talk: The Brain is a Time Machine
A lecture with Peter D. Balsam
James Room, 4th Floor Barnard Hall
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
From the Faculty Lounge: Dandies and Romantics
A conversation between Monica L. Miller and Caroline Weber
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Saturday, December 10, 2016
B Minor Mass by Johann Sebastian Bach
Performed by the Barnard-Columbia Chorus
Church of the Ascension: 221 West 107th Street
Thursday, December 8 - Saturday, December 10, 2016
Promenade: A Musical
Book and lyrics by María Irene Fornés, Music by Al Carmines, Directed by Alice Reagan
Glicker-Milstein Theatre, The Diana Center, LL200
Thursday, December 8 - Saturday, December 10, 2016
Promenade: A Musical
Book and lyrics by María Irene Fornés, Music by Al Carmines, Directed by Alice Reagan
Glicker-Milstein Theatre, The Diana Center, LL200
Thursday, December 8 - Saturday, December 10, 2016
Promenade: A Musical
Book and lyrics by María Irene Fornés, Music by Al Carmines, Directed by Alice Reagan
Glicker-Milstein Theatre, The Diana Center, LL200
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
POWER TALK with Athena Distinguished Fellow Jacki Zehner
Held Lecture Hall, 3rd Floor of Barnard Hall
Tuesday, December 06, 2016
TLC Rising
Celebrate the next phase of Barnard's new building
Milbank Courtyard
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Student Reading
Students currently enrolled in creative writing classes read from their work.
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor of Barnard Hall
Monday, December 5, 2016
Scholar, Teacher, Mentor: A Celebration of Lynn Garafola
A panel discussion
Julius S. Held Auditorium, 304 Barnard Hall
Thursday, December 1 - Saturday, December 3, 2016
Barnard/Columbia Dances at New York Live Arts
A performance
New York Live Arts 219 West 19th Street