Events

Primary tabs

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Convocation 2017
Riverside Church, 490 Riverside Drive
Thursday, September 14, 2017
Listening to Images: A Salon in Honor of Tina Campt
With Tina Campt, Rizvana Bradley, Jack Halberstam, Christina Sharpe, and Deborah Thomas
Event Oval, The Diana Center
Saturday, September 16, 2017
Welcome Concert 2017
Featuring Elena Sartori
James Chapel, 3041 Broadway
Monday, September 18, 2017
Women Poets at Barnard: Donna Masini, Sharon Olds, and Brittany Perham
A poetry reading.
Sulzberger Parlor, Barnard Hall 3rd Floor
Monday, September 25, 2017
‘Song in a Weary Throat’: Pauli Murray’s Life and Legacy
Event Oval, The Diana Center
Mondays: Sep. 25, Oct. 30, and Nov. 27
Here/Say 2017
Conversations about art
400 Diana Center
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
POWER TALK with Athena Distinguished Fellow Kavita Ramdas
Julius S. Held Lecture Hall, 304 Barnard Hall
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
From the Faculty Lounge: Why Do We Do That? Decision-Making and Natural Selection
A conversation between Joshua New and Homa Zarghamee
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Bronx Gothic
A film screening and conversation
Julius S. Held Auditorium, 304 Barnard Hall
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Homes for All, Cages for None: Housing Justice in an Age of Abolition
A panel featuring Craig Willse
Event Oval, The Diana Center
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Beyond the Critique of Secularism: Understanding the History of Sectarianism in the Modern Middle East
A lecture with Ussama Makdisi
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Thursday, October 12, 2017
In Conversation with Jhumpa Lahiri ’89
Joined by professor Hisham Matar
Event Oval, The Diana Center
Monday, October 16, 2017
Helen Pond McIntyre ’48 Lecture: The Institutional as Usual
With Sara Ahmed
Event Oval, The Diana Center
Thursday, October 19 - Saturday, October 21, 2017
Mary Stuart
Performances
Minor Latham Playhouse, 118 Milbank Hall
Friday, October 20, 2017
Performing Tradition and Innovation
A performance
Studio 305, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Wednesday, October 25, 2017
POWER TALK with Athena Distinguished Fellow Jehmu Greene
Julius S. Held Lecture Hall, 304 Barnard Hall
Friday, October 27, 2017
Alturas Duo
A Concert
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Friday, November 3 - Saturday, November 4, 2017
Invisible No More: Resisting Police Violence Against Black Women and Women of Color in Troubled Times
A conference.
Event Oval, The Diana Center
Wednesday, November 8, 2017
Being the First: New York City Law and Government
A conversation with Georgia Pestana '84
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Poets at Barnard: Airea Dee Matthews, D.A. Powell, and Rachel Zucker
A poetry reading.
Sulzberger Parlor, Barnard Hall 3rd Floor
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Environmental Leadership and Innovation: A Celebration of 35 Years
Panels and workshops.
James Room, 4th Floor Barnard Hall
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Combahee River Collective Mixtape: Black Feminist Sonic Dissent Then and Now
With Daphne Brooks, Kara Keeling, and Jacqueline Stewart
Event Oval, The Diana Center
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
The Politics of the Resident Alien: Migration as Foundation
Ella Weed Room, 223 Milbank Hall
Thursday, November 16, 2017
Women Poets at Barnard: A Centennial Celebration of Gwendolyn Brooks
A poetry reading.
Held Lecture Hall, Barnard Hall 3rd Floor
November 17, 2017
Mezzomonis: Music of the Jewish Soul
A concert
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Writers at Barnard: Creative Writing Students
Creative writing students read from their work.
Sulzberger Parlor, Barnard Hall 3rd Floor
Thursday, November 30 - Saturday, December 2, 2017
Barnard/Columbia Dances at New York Live Arts
Performances
219 West 19th Street
Friday, December 1, 2017
Chamber Opera: Cendrillon
By Pauline Viardot
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Monday, December 4, 2017
From the Faculty Lounge: More Than a Game: Play to Learn
A conversation between Mark Carnes and Stephanie Pfirman
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall
Thursday, December 7 - Saturday, December 9, 2017
Translations
Minor Latham Playhouse, 118 Milbank Hall
Saturday, December 9, 2017
Judas Maccabeus
By George Frideric Handel
Church of the Ascension, 221 W. 107th Street