Each year, awards are presented to members of Barnard’s faculty for their outstanding commitment to teaching. We are pleased to announce this year's recipients. Congratulations to all!

Adviser of Distinction Award

Walter Neumann, Professor and Chair of Mathematics

A new award, nominated and selected by students, honors a faculty member who has made a sustained contribution to student development as a proactive advocate who understands the complexities of students' academic, personal and cultural lives and identities.

Emily Gregory Award

Jennifer Mansfield, Assistant Professor of Biology

This student-nominated and student-chosen award honors an outstanding faculty member for excellence in teaching and for devotion and service to the students of Barnard College. More information.

Gladys Brooks Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award

Gergley (Gergo) Baics, Assistant Professor of History and Urban Studies

Krista McGuire, Assistant Professor of Biology

Established at Barnard in 1989 by the Gladys Brooks Foundation, this award is given annually to recognize considerable individual achievements of tenure-track/tenure-eligible assistant professors at Barnard. More information.

Teaching Excellence Award

Rosalyn Deutsche, Term Professor of Art History

An award designed to recognize any full-time faculty member who has made a difference in the teaching climate of the college. More information.

Tow Award for Innovative Pedagogy

Mark Carnes, Professor of History and Director of "Reacting to the Past"

This award recognizes an exemplary member of the Barnard faculty who combines scholarship and pedagogy in creative ways, maximizing the impacts of both. More information.

Ann Whitney Olin Professorships

Tina Campt, Director of Africana Studies and Professor of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

John Glendinning, Professor and Chair of Biology

Ann Whitney Olin Professorships are awarded on the basis of scholarship, teaching, and other contributions to the academic community to exceptional faculty who have achieved the rank of full professor.

Tow Professorships

Brian Larkin, Associate Professor of Anthropology

Dina Merrer, Associate Professor and Chair of Chemistry

Tow Professorships for Distinguished Scholars and Practitioners help the College to reward its extraordinary faculty by recognizing those, generally at the Associate Professor level, who have already made substantial, nationally recognized contributions to their field.