Finding a Research Mentor

For students interested in conducting research with Barnard faculty, please consult the list below. Once you have identified faculty whose research interests you, then you should make an appointment to discuss opportunities that may be available in their labs. It is always a good idea to read a few of his/her recent publications to facilitate the discussion that you will have.
 
If you are interested in working at Columbia or elsewhere in New York City, then you can find listings of past mentors of Barnard students at several Department and Program websites. You can also look for mentors by finding their web pages through an internet search of local universities, medical centers, and research institutes. For excellent and detailed advise about how to approach a potential mentor, see the site created by the CU Biology Dept.

List of Banard Research Mentors

Biology

Faculty member

Contact information

Research interests

Bauer, Elizabeth

ebauer@barnard.edu

Neural mechanisms underlying emotional memory

Callahan, HIlary

hcallahan@barnard.edu

Ecological genetics

Mansfield, Jennifer

jmansfield@barnard.eud

Developmental genetics, Vertebrate development

Glendinning, John jglendin@barnard.edu Oral chemical senses, plasticity, food likes and dislikes

McGuire, Krista

kmcguire@barnard.edu

Soil microbial responses to human land use change

Morton, Brian

bmorton@barnard.edu

Evolution of plastid DNA

Snow, Jonathan

jsnow@barnard.edu

The cellular stress responses of the honey bee

Chemistry

Faculty member

Contact information

Research interests

Austin, Rachel

raustin@barnard.edu

Environmental bioinorganic chemistry; C-H and C-O bond activation; Inorganic neurochemistry

Buzzeo, Marissa

mbuzzeo@barnard.edu

Redox-active biological systems; Determination of fundamental thermodynamic data and development of optimized electrochemical biosensors

Crowther, Andrew

acrowther@barnard.edu

Raman spectroscopy to study fundamental reactions of the nanomaterial graphene

Merrer, Dina

dmerrer@barnard.edu

Mechanisms of intermolecular carbene additions to strained cyclic compounds

Rojas, Christian

crojas@barnard.edu

Organic chemical synthesis of amino sugars

Sever, Mary

msever@barnard.edu

Metal-ion induced alterations in micro-RNA expression on the process of neurodegeneration

Vizcarra, Christina cvizcarra@barnard.edu Mechanism of actin filament formation, and how proteins called formins initiate and regulate actin filament assembly

Environmental Science

Faculty member

Contact information

Research interests

Mailloux, Brian

bmailloux@barnard.edu

Arsenic in groundwater, Geomicrobiology

Pfirman, Stephanie

spfirman@barnard.edu

Nature and dynamics of Arctic sea ice under changing climate

Stute, Martin

mstute@barnard.edu

Global change, Hydrology, and climate

Physics & Astronomy

Faculty member

Contact information

Research interests

Halpin-Healy, Timothy

healy@phys.columbia.edu

Phase transitions, critical phenomena, and the renormalization group

Mukergee, Reshmi

muk@astro.columbia.edu

High-energy astrophysics and astroparticle physics

Psychology

Faculty member

Contact information

Research interests

Balsam, Peter

pbalsam@barnard.edu

Adapting behavior to changing environments

Heuer, Larry

lheuer@barnard.edu

Psychology of procedural justice

McCrink, Koleen

kmccrink@barnard.edu

Development of numerical cognition

Remez, Robert

remez@columbia.edu

Relationships among perception, cognition and language.

Romeo, Russell

Rromeo@barnard.edu

Effects of pubertal maturation on brain and behavior

Silver, Rae

qr@Columbia.edu

Circadian rhythms, role of mast cells in brain

** Note: the faculty who run the Neuroscience & Behavior Program are located in the Biology and Psychology Departments. See the Neuroscience website for their names.

If you are looking for a summer internship outside NYC, review the internship opportunities listed by HSPP (many of which are funded).