Professor Christina Vizcarra


On August 24, Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA) announced the recipients of the 2022 Cottrell Scholar Collaborative Awards, which included Christina Vizcarra, assistant professor of chemistry, for outstanding group work on a project titled “Infusing Computational Science Concepts into STEM Courses through Multidisciplinary Instructor Collaborative Networks.”  

The international team of chemistry, physics and astronomy professors is led by Iowa State University’s Professor Davit Potoyan. The team's aim is to create a centralized web resource based on the materials developed by faculty in the Enhancing Science Courses by Integrating Python network, which will enable STEM educators to collaboratively create and manage Python-based educational materials, including notebooks, and best practices guides. Vizcarra was part of the initial team that received the first round of funding in 2019. In July 2022, the group hosted a workshop in Tucson, AZ, attended by 15 faculty from across the U.S.

The Cottrell Scholar Collaborative Awards fund creative approaches to overcoming traditional bottlenecks in science education by supporting projects that seek to change the culture of science departments as well as connect faculty through national initiatives related to improving science education.