Gala 2018

Annual event raises scholarship funds and fêtes honorees

Alumnae and friends attended Barnard’s Annual Gala at the Plaza Hotel on May 1. The event, co-chaired by Nina Rennert Davidson ’95 and Cheryl Glicker Milstein ’82, P ’14, raised $3.6 million for the College’s financial aid program. 

Board Chair Emerita Anna Quindlen ’74 presented outgoing Board of Trustees Chair Jolyne Caruso-FitzGerald ’81 with the Frederick A.P. Barnard Award for her devotion to the College. Caruso-FitzGerald served for eighteen years on the Board, eight of them as chair. 

Trustees Nina Ansary ’89, P ’19 and Nancy A. Garvey ’71 both received the Joan Rivers ’54 Trailblazer Award, which is presented to those who exemplify the strength, determination, creativity, and courage that were hallmarks of Rivers’s groundbreaking and illustrious career. 

“This is the first year that three honorees are current Barnard trustees,” said President Sian Leah Beilock. “Their connections and contributions to the College are undeniable.” In her remarks, she highlighted another landmark year for admissions—the incoming class is once again the most selective and diverse class in the College’s history—and her excitement for new initiatives, such as Beyond Barnard and The Milstein Center, both of which will contribute to innovative and engaging learning opportunities for the Barnard community. •

Latest IssueSpring 2023