Scholarships & Programs

Beckman Scholars & CSTEP

Young woman working on a laptop outside on a fall day

The Beckman Scholars Program

Barnard College continues to offer Beckman Scholars Awards to students in select science majors, with support from the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation. 

We encourage interested Biology majors, especially sophomores, to explore the Beckman Scholars Program. Scholars and mentors participate in a 15-month experience and scholars are provided continuous and generous stipend-support over two summers and publication costs in addition to that for travel to conferences.  Faculty mentors furnish hands-on guidance and support throughout.                      

The Beckman Scholars Program specifically targets students who are mentored by select faculty in Biology, Chemistry, or Neuroscience & Behavior. Preliminary applications are due February 1st, 2021.

For more info, visit: The Beckman Scholars Program

black and white image of students studying at the Barnard Library

Collegiate Science & Technology Entry Program

The Collegiate Science and Technology Entry Program (CSTEP) is a New York State funded program first introduced in 1986.  Barnard began its program in 2006 and is sponsored by both the New York State Education department and by Barnard College.

Barnard’s CSTEP is an enrichment program designed to foster students’ academic success in preparing for professional licensure or careers in the scientific, technical — including social — work, law, teaching or health-related fields.

To learn more about Barnard's CSTEP Program, visit: Collegiate Science and Technology Entry Program

MMUF & (SP)^2

Young Black woman pointing at a colorful chalkboard portrait

Science Pathways Scholars Program – (SP)²

The Science Pathways Scholars Program – (SP)² – is a highly-selective four year program to support talented young women from Black, Native-American, and Latinx backgrounds as well as first generation college students, who express strong interest in biology, chemistry, environmental science, physics/astronomy, or neuroscience. Students who are selected as (SP)² Scholars will benefit from an exceptional set of opportunities and resources.

Learn more at: (SP)²

Black woman student pulling a book off a library shelf

Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship (MMUF)

The Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship (MMUF) program is part of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation's mission to "aid and promote such religious, charitable, scientific, literary, and educational purposes as may be in the furtherance of the public welfare or tend to promote the well-doing or well-being of mankind." In 1988, under this broad charter, the Foundation made a long-term commitment to help remedy the serious shortage of faculty of color in higher education, as well as to address the attendant educational consequences of these small numbers. The name of the program symbolically connects the mission to the achievements of Dr. Benjamin E. Mays, educator, college president, and civil rights activist.

To redress the under-representation of minority groups on American college and university faculties, the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship (MMUF) program encourages students with a demonstrated commitment to racial diversity, to pursue academic careers. It provides opportunities for talented undergraduates to work with faculty mentors in research and other activities designed to encourage the pursuit of the PhD in the humanities and sciences.

Learn more about this select Barnard fellowship at: Selected Fellowships: MMUF

More Honors...


Edna Henry Bennett Memorial Grants (1927)

For summer study at a biological research station.

Hermann Botanical Prize (1892)

For an undergraduate student proficient in biology.

Herbert Maule Richards Grants (1933)

For botanical or general biological research.

Donald and Nancy Ritchie Grants (1979)

For biological study or research.

Spiera Family Prize (1986)

For promise of excellence by a student majoring in biological sciences.

Constance Von Wahl Prize (1915)

For advanced work in biology.


Helen R. Downes Prize (1964)

For graduating seniors who show promise of distinction in medicine or the medical sciences.

Ida and John Kauderer Prize (1973)

For premedical students majoring in chemistry.

Barbara Ann Liskin Memorial Prize (1995)

For a premedical student committed to women’s issues and to a humanistic approach to patient care.

Lucy Moses Award (1975)

For a premedical student likely to provide service to the medically underserved.

Gertrude Bunger Zufall Award (1987)

For a premedical student entering her senior year