In the summer and fall of 2017, Barnard's faculty were awarded multiple research grants and fellowships. These grants and fellowships offer support to a range of research interests, enabling faculty to continue existing studies and to support collaborations with other institutions across the country and& world. Provost Linda Bell congratulates these faculty members. "These awards reflect our professors' impressive contributions to Barnard and their exceptional leadership in this academic community as a whole."

Thea Abu El-Haj, Associate Professor in Education, is the principal investigator on a grant from The Spencer Foundation for her project titled “Unequal Citizens: Documenting the civic lives of American Muslim Youth.”

Belinda Archibong, Assistant Professor of Economics, received a Russian Studies Research Grant from theColumbia University Harriman Institute for her project studying air pollution, carbon leakage, and gas flaring policy.

John Glendinning, Ann Whitney Olin Professor of Biology, received a grant from Comet Biorefining, Inc., for the second phase of his project titled "Metabolic impacts of sugar syrups on mice."

Brian Mailloux, Associate Professor of Environmental Science, received renewal funding from the National Institutes of Health for his ongoing collaborative research into the “Health Effects and Geochemistry of Arsenic and Manganese.” Brian also received a grant from the National Science Foundation for the research project titled “Acquisition of an Ion Chromatograph (IC) for Water Quality Analyses in an Undergraduate Led Lab.”

Jennifer Mansfield, Associate Professor of Biology, was awarded a three-year grant from the National Institutes of Health for her project “Testing the Tissue-specific Mechanism of Hox-A5 Function in Musculoskeletal Patterning.”

Michael Miller, Assistant Professor of Political Science, in collaboration with a colleague from Indiana University, was awarded funding from the MIT Election Data and Science Lab through its New Initiatives Grants in Election Science program for a project titled “Who Does Voter ID Legislation Keep from Voting? Evidence from Texas.”

Eduardo Moncada, Assistant Professor of Political Science, received an award from the Columbia University Weatherhead East Asian Institute Workshop and Conference Program Fund for his “Conference on Criminal Governance in Comparative Perspective” to be held at Columbia University in February, 2018.

Josh New, Assistant Professor of Psychology, was awarded a grant from the National Science Foundation for his project entitled “Improving Pedestrian Safety in Urban Cities Using Intelligent Wearable Systems.”

Anupama Rao, Associate Professor of History, received a Russian Studies Research Grant from the Columbia University Harriman Institute for her closed-door workshop, "The Minority Question in the Short Twentieth Century," which is a prelude to an edited volume

Ann Senghas, Professor of Psychology and Director of the Language Acquisition and Development Laboratory, was awarded continuing grant funding by the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders of the National Institutes of Health for her project focusing on "The Creation and Enhancement of Language."

Rajiv Sethi, Professor of Economics, in collaboration with the University of Southern California, received a four-year grant from the Office of the Director of National Intelligence’s Intelligence Advanced Research Projects Activity program (IARPA) for a collaborative project “SAGE: Synergistic Anticipation of Geopolitical Events.”

Jonathan Snow Jonathan Snow, Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences, was awarded a two-year grant from Project Apis m. for his project “Defining sensitivity and cellular impacts of pharmacologic and genetic inhibition of aminoacyl-tRNA-synthesis on N. Ceranae and its honey bee host.”

Lisa Son, Associate Professor of Psychology, in collaboration with Kyungnam University, received a three-year grant from the National Research Foundation of Korea’s Global Research Network for her project “Metacognition Across Culture: Impact of Self-Regulatory Focus.”

Anja Tolonen, Assistant Professor of Economics, received a faculty research grant award from the Columbia Center for Development Economics and Policy for her project titled "Asymmetric Information in the Household: Fathers, Children and Peer-Pressure."

In addition, Mary Sever, Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Rachel Austin, Chemistry Department Chair and Diana T. and P. Roy Vagelos Professor; Christina Vizcarra, Assistant Professor of Chemistry; and Andrew Crowther, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, were awarded National Science Foundation grants in 2017; William Sharpe, Professor of English, became the first Barnard professor honored with a Fulbright Visiting Professor Award; and Reshmi Mukherjee, Helen Goodhart Altschul Professor of Physics & Astronomy, was selected by the American Physical Society as one of its 2017 Fellows and received funding from NASA's Space Fund grant program for an ongoing collaborative project with Cornell University.